Photoblogging My Coastal Friends

Bianca, by LouFCD on Flickr

Bianca, by LouFCD on Flickr

My good friend and Zoology classmate Bianca (pictued above – forget it, she’s married) noted to me at school that Crowded Head has been very ranty of late. While it’s true that this is my own special place for venting, I’d rather not allow that to become the general tone here, either.

With that in mind, I’ve been looking for something to write that doesn’t involve a great deal of venom and spittle. I’ve not really been inspired to write much lately though, what with school sucking up all my creative energy like a sponge on a bar.

It occurs to me that I haven’t posted any of my recent photos here, however, so I’m going to share some of my favorites that I’ve taken lately.

I’ve shot a handful of friends from school, and I have an idea about doing a specific collection (I’ll write about it when it’s done). Meanwhile, these have begun to grow into a bit of a personal yearbook.

More photos of my friends and schoolmates lie below the fold.

Most mornings before class I can be found on the patio, drinking coffee and shooting the breeze with Kaitlin. She’s one of the first people I met at Coastal. She’s a very talented artist from Boston, and I’ve had the privilege of seeing about all of her work over the last year before it’s even ready for public consumption. She insists she’s not photogenic (doesn’t everyone?). I disagree.

Kaitlin, the Artist, by LouFCD on Flickr

Kaitlin, the Artist, by LouFCD on Flickr

We’re usually joined by Katy, who really really really needs her morning coffee before she winds up for the day. Once she gets going though…

Brown Eyed Red, by LouFCD on Flickr

Brown Eyed Red, by LouFCD on Flickr

In the event you got the idea that only our womenfolk are dangerously good looking, Easy Cool Brandon will set you aright. He wears those shades most days, and I think it’s so that he doesn’t have to keep calling EMS to pick up the girls who’ve fainted upon seeing his Rutger Hauer baby blues. I imagine that gets old after the first 1500 times.

Smirking MIB, by LouFCD on Flickr

Smirking MIB, by LouFCD on Flickr

I don’t usually see Laura outside of Zoology class, and when I do she’s hustling off on her way to some other class. She’s very studious and on-the-ball. I actually met Laura last semester, when she was one of my PASS students. Her mom taught Biology over at White Oak, and actually had my daughter Kay a few years ago, so there’s a neat connection.

Laura, from Zoology, by LouFCD on Flickr

Laura, from Zoology, by LouFCD on Flickr

Sam is proudly a member of G.R.I.T.S. (Girls Raised In The South), and has become my officially designated critter model for Zo field trips. She asked me once why that was, and though I replied at the time that she was the only one dumb enough to just do whatever I told her without question, the truth is that she’s just really cute and doesn’t mind holding bugs and frogs and stuff while I take pictures of them (photos in a subsequent post).

Sam in Profile, by LouFCD on Flickr

Sam in Profile, by LouFCD on Flickr

Sarah and Dwayne are a really cute couple, at least one of whom is almost always on the patio. They’ve asked me to do their engagement photos, with an eye toward my flying to Michigan next summer to do their wedding photos. We’ll see how the first round goes before I decide on the shots for The Big Day.

Sarah and Dwayne, by LouFCD on Flickr

Sarah and Dwayne, by LouFCD on Flickr

This shot of Rachael was totally an accident, but I love the way it turned out.

Censored by Coke, by LouFCD on Flickr

Censored by Coke, by LouFCD on Flickr

…and sans Coke can to show off her legs a bit better.

Rachael, by LouFCD on Flickr

Rachael, by LouFCD on Flickr

There’s a bit more to my virtual yearbook, and I’ll be adding to it as I go. The entire set can be found here, on my flickr page.

From whence came the art:

All images in this post were taken by me, and are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike license. Clicking them will take you to their respective pages on Flickr, where larger sizes are available by clicking the “All Sizes” link above each photo.

Leave a Reply

