RTFB

Biology, Eighth Edition, by Campbell & Reece, et al.

Biology, Eighth Edition, by Campbell & Reece, et al.

For those of you unfamiliar, RTFB stands for “READ THE FUCKING BOOK”. We had a Biology quiz today, and I totally blew two questions because I didn’t RTFB.

The first question, and how I answered it:

This Molecule Doesnt Make Sense

This Molecule Doesn't Make Sense

I recognized that there was a problem, and couldn’t work it out. Looking at it, obviously the H atom is making too many bonds here, winding up with too many e- in its valence shell. What I didn’t do was read the instructions for the problem thoroughly, which offered the option of saying the molecule didn’t make sense. I could SEE it didn’t make sense, and why, but didn’t write down that this was the case.

Those instructions appeared in the book, from whence the problem came, but not on the quiz sheet which said something like “Draw the Lewis Dot Diagrams for problem 9 on page 36” or whatever.

There was a similarly nonsensical molecule, that I also did not label as such.

Damnit, Damnit, Damnit.

RTFB.

drekshunz

From whence came the art:

The first image is of our textbook, Biology, Eighth Edition, by Campbell & Reese et al.

Other images by me and are licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution- NonCommercial- Share Alike 3.0 License.

4 Responses to “RTFB”

  1. Elspeth Says:

    Hugging is what I do — here, have one {{hug}}

    And next time … um, yeah. You know what to do. *smile*

  2. Lou FCD Says:

    🙂

    Thanks Elspeth. Yeah, eventually, I’ll get it through my thick skull to RTFB.

    ….eventually…

  3. Kym Says:

    You are doing the most important part with the Blogging your Biology class–retype your notes but…

    Well, the second most important way to do well in school is RTFB.

    Don’t forget the third way though. Make time for study groups or partners in really tough classes. If nothing else they form a social unit that helps you stick with the studying.

    Sorry, the teacher in me comes out and bludgeons people with lectures occasionally. You’ll find it happening to you, too.

  4. Lou FCD Says:

    Roger Dodger, Teach. I’m all over that, and have a study thing with a girl from Precalc tonight while Kay is in class (save gas, yay!).

    Bludgeon away. I have a very thick head.


Leave a Reply

