So, Almost Done Week One

Narnia Entry in Spring by Fort Photo @ Flickr

Narnia Entry in Spring by Fort Photo @ Flickr

College has been tough on my broken body this first week.  If you’ve been following my twitter page, you know that I’ve got a bunch of homework from my Pre-calc algebra class (my night class).  Little bit of Spanish, little bit of English, no Biology homework yet.

I’m enjoying my classes, all of them, but most especially my Biology class.  The prof is great, and the subject of course is the reason I’m there, so it’s inherently interesting to me.  He’s spending a great deal of time and effort on the Scientific Method, which rocks.  You simply can’t do Science without it.

By request of Steve Story, Moderator Emeritus at AtBC, I’m sort of pseudoblogging my Bio class at After the Bar Closes.  Please feel free to read and/or contribute there.  It’s a great place, full of Scientists, Science educators, and people just interested in Science.  Mostly, its raison d’etre is for mocking creationism and the dishonest purveyors of the Intelligent Design Creationism Hoax, so although you’ll find some heavy duty science there in places, you’ll also find a lot of mockery that might be described as “puerile”.  It’s sort of to be expected, given the target.

For English class, I have a great guy for a teacher.  Very gregarious, very boisterous, and not afraid to be fun and/or cheesy.  I like that in a teacher, as well.

I have a very young lady for PreCalc Algebra.  She nice, and she’s friendly, but seems just a little nervous or timid or something, like she could really use a drink before class.  Is is appropriate for a student to suggest such a thing?  If so, how would one go about that without implying that she have a drink with me?  My wife would probably be a little sour on such an idea, so I definitely don’t want to give that impression.  I kinda like sleeping indoors, I’ve grown accustomed to it, and would rather not find myself on the porch.

My Spanish class is a bit livelier – sometimes.  The teacher does a lot to get everyone involved and keep it light, but in a class made up of kids, well, sometimes they’re just introverted.  It’s been interesting to see the collective mood swing back and forth within each class period.

Anyway, I’ll try  to blog a little more often about my classes, but right now I have a ton of homework and my first quiz (precalc) is Monday.

From whence came the art:

That image is titled Narnia Entry in Spring by Fort Photo, and is licensed under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 2.0 license.

10 Responses to “So, Almost Done Week One”

  1. Diana Says:

    It sounds like you’re off to a good start. No, you cannot suggest for her to drink!! Just be nice!

  2. Lou FCD Says:

    The poor girl is scared to death or something! She really needs a drink.

  3. Diana Says:

    I understand but maybe if you didn’t sit so close she wouldn’t be so scared.

  4. Lou FCD Says:

    Hey, I don’t sit that close!

  5. Diana Says:

    Maybe you stink! And she’s just reacting from the stench. Or maybe she’s not used to seeing some one so old! ; )

  6. Lou FCD Says:

    Y’know, if I wanted to be abused, I have two perfectly capable teenagers close at hand…

  7. Diana Says:

    Hehehehehehehe

  8. Beth Says:

    Don’t know if you were merely being factitious, and therefore don’t need a serious response but here goes anyhoo, from the other side of the desk … Feel free to ignore me.

    Maybe she … hates teaching, has lots of other things going on in her life right now, had a really bad experience last semester or over the summer, is on probation with her department etc etc. What you’re reading as fear could be something else entirely (anger, grief, loneliness etc). She quite likely wouldn’t appreciate knowing that you’ve noticed and if anyone ever told me I needed a drink before class I’d … sweetie, you don’t want to know how I’d reply!

    Best thing you can do is be a decent student — sensible, attentive, quietly friendly and so on and let the semester/course/instructor get into its groove.

    And? Fall semester has begun already? Time, slipping etc. Wishing you the best with it all🙂

  9. Beth Says:

    Typo: facetious. Dear lord.

  10. Lou FCD Says:

    🙂

    Nah, I was just joking about the drink, Beth. I’m not convinced she’s even old enough to drink for one thing, but I’m sure she’ll be fine.

    Thanks for the perspective though.


Leave a Reply

