Exams Behind

jeans | day 305 by TeeRish @ Flickr

jeans | day 305 by TeeRish @ Flickr

Did them this morning.  The English part was pretty easy, though some of the answers were a matter of choosing “which one of these choices sucks least?” in the part where I had to correct an essay.  At least two of them were “which one of these is correct, but the most uninteresting way you could possibly write this sentence?”

The math part gave me an issue or two, mostly stuff I knew but couldn’t pull the methodology out of my butt.  A little creative tinkering with the calculator got me to the answer via work-around, I think.  “What would happen if I performed this operation?” and “Well, that answer can’t be right because it would work out to something not even vaguely in the ballpark” types of things.

I took my time, was the second from the last to finish the exams.  Clocked in right under two hours, and the test was un-timed anyway.  I was more concerned with getting as many right as I could than finishing quickly.  I’ll know on Thursday how I did.

From whence came the art:

That image is titled jeans | day 305 by TeeRish, and is licensed by the artist under the Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial 2.0 license.

24 Responses to “Exams Behind”

  1. Lou FCD Says:

    Well we might better wait until Thursday before declaring anything too good…
    🙂

  2. Beth Says:

    Ah, but such a relief to have them over with, yes? So, yes: good for you — this is a huge step, don’t sell yourself short.

  3. Lou FCD Says:

    Yes. I’m glad they’re behind, Beth.

  4. Stephanie Z Says:

    If your biggest issue was having too many options on how to solve a problem, you did just fine. And yeah, multiple choice English tests are always a matter of holding your nose and giving them the answer they want. True/false are worse.

  5. Lou FCD Says:

    Well at the time, my biggest issue was trying to remember what the hell to do with a fractional exponent…
    😛

    I think it was something like 64 to the 2/3 power or something, maybe the -2/3 power?

    I didn’t have the option for fractional exponents of a given number on the calculator they issued me, but I did have the option for powers of ten.

    I plunked with ten, figured out how it got where it was going, then manually did 64. The answer came out to 1/16, if I recall correctly, and that was the only choice available that wasn’t like 256 or 51,200 or something.

    There was another one that involved factoring a quadratic in a numerator, but one of the factors in the numerator was the same as the denominator. That meant the other factor had to equal the other side of the equation, whatever it was, so I didn’t have to figure out the whole thing, just the value of the k variable they threw in, because the denominator canceled with the one factor in the numerator.

    I can’t recall the exact problem, and it’s hard to explain, but realizing that the factor involving the stray variable had to equal the other side of the equation was the key to the whole thing.

    k = 5, btw.

  6. Lou FCD Says:

    It was either that or the one factor equaled the other side of the equation, so the factor with the stray variable had to equal the denominator, in order for the equation to work.

    Whatever it was, realizing that the factor with the unknown variable had to equal something else was the key.

  7. Beth Says:

    *feels a little sick now, from reading all of that*

  8. Lou FCD Says:

    It made perfect sense when I was taking the exam…
    🙂

  9. Stephanie Z Says:

    It’s okay, Beth. Some of us speak math so the rest of you don’t have to.😉

    It was -2/3 power.

  10. Lou FCD Says:

    I have the power! (or -2/3 of it, anyway)

  11. Diana Says:

    Yeah, they’re done! Now on to the real schooling! : )

  12. Lou FCD Says:

    I’m sorry. This is the Emergency AutoResponse Blog System.

    Lou FCD received his Skepchick and Skepdude calendars today and will be unavailable for several days.

    … unless his wife’s hand lotion runs out.

  13. JanieBelle Says:

    omg. i’m with the boy.

  14. Kevin at GodsDandruff.com Says:

    Daddy, Daddy, why is Mr. Lou’s right arm so much more muscular than his left?

  15. Diana Says:

    No, they’re pretty symmetrical, he mixes it up with the Stranger!

  16. a.real.girl Says:

    OK, I’m living recklessly and saying “good for you” too, even though it’s not yet Thursday.

    And, Sweet Lou, you’re way too, too, too good to me. Thanks to you (and Janie too) for all the great press about my little project.

    I’m really tweaked that you like ’em.

  17. Lou FCD Says:

    Heh. Tomorrow we find out just how rusty the math is…

    I’m a little nervous, actually. What if I didn’t do as well as I thought I did? That’ll sting.

    We lurve the calendars, A. You are teh awesomest, and so are the calendars.

  18. Lou FCD Says:

    I’m gonna have the calendars laminated, btw. Y’know, in case I uh… y’know… spill coffee or beer on them. Yeah, coffee or beer. That’s the ticket.

  19. Kevin at GodsDandruff.com Says:

    Is that why whenever I visit Molly’s Mirror after you’ve been there are the best web pages are stuck together?

  20. Lou FCD Says:

    If you’re talking about this one or this one or this one, then I have no idea what you’re talking about.

  21. Kevin at GodsDandruff.com Says:

    click…click…click…

    Yeah, those are the ones. Wait, let me check that again…

    click…LONG PAUSE…

    click…LONG PAUSE…

    Click…LONG PAUSE…

    Yeah, those are definitely the ones.

  22. Kevin at GodsDandruff.com Says:

    Well, it’s Thursday, 9:22 pm…exam results?

  23. Lou FCD Says:

    I can’t get them until morning. There was a car/work shuffle thing that screwed my plans today. They won’t give me the results over the phone.


Leave a Reply

