103

In the shade. Not a cloud in the sky.

Brutal to be at my son’s block party at school, but sometimes, a Dad’s job is never done…

My wife and I went and volunteered to chaperon. We lasted about an hour and a half, and fortunately, they were sending the kids back inside early because of the heat. I don’t think I could have taken much more.

I like it hot, but this was withering, without a sea breeze.

Got home and Shakespeare needed to go out. I took him out, he did his thing, he said out loud, “Dude. Fuck this.” He’s lying on the cool carpet under my desk.

I’m just going to cool off with Shakespeare under the desk for the rest of the day. The lawn needs mowing, but I just don’t care right now.

The end.

36 Responses to “103”

  1. Kevin at GodsDandruff.com Says:

    This morning Kendra turned the key in her car to discover a dead battery.

    I spent 30 minutes pulling the battery, getting a replacement and replacing the battery. 30 minutes.

    My pants were soaked through.

    Next time she’s fixing her own damn car.

    It’s too hot.

  2. Diana Says:

    I think I see heat waves outside.

  3. Kevin at GodsDandruff.com Says:

    It’s like a heat wave…burnin’ in my heart.

  4. Beth Says:

    **shudders**

    That’s way too hot. We only have rain and rain, floods, and more floods … blah.

  5. Lou FCD Says:

    Our rainy season draws nigh, and today it seems like it can’t get here quick enough.

    Kevin, you’re making me horny for you. 🙂

  6. Kevin at GodsDandruff.com Says:

    Don’t beat yourself up about it Lou, it’s a common experience. Just realize I am spoken for. Direct your passions toward someone else. Over time your heart will mend.

  7. Beth Says:

    Sheesh. And I thought Lou and I were bad.

    *forces self to stop. typing. now*

  8. Lou FCD Says:

    Ah the pains of unrequited love man lust…

    (sigh)

    Ha, no Beth. JanieBelle is bad. I’m an old married fart who once knew what bad was but has long since forgotten.

  9. Diana Says:

    Oh Lou, don’t be so modest! ; 0

  10. Lou FCD Says:

    Well, I can’t lie, there were definitely some good bad old days (about which I’m sure you won’t hesitate to remind me – The Beeramid comes to mind… )

    It’s good to have old friends to remind me of those days, and it’s true: that genie occasionally tries to escape her bottle, but I’ve long since learned to smack her pretty little ass around and shove her back in before I get into too much trouble.

    I really need to get a better cork for that thing.

  11. Lou FCD Says:

    P.S. Have I mentioned lately how tickled I always am when Meredith Brooks begins singing “I’m a bitch” from my phone and I know you’re on the other end?

    I’m a bitch
    I’m a lover
    I’m a child
    I’m a mother
    I’m a sinner
    I’m a saint
    I do not feel ashamed
    I’m your hell
    I’m your dream
    I’m nothing in between
    You know you wouldn’t want it any other way

    (sigh) She never gets to the “Goddess on my knees” part, and there’s a joke in there somewhere…

  12. Kevin at GodsDandruff.com Says:

    Lou have you ever read what the DSM IV says about “gender confusion disorder”? You may want to get some help.

  13. Lou FCD Says:

    Oh I think my issues are way deeper than that…
    🙂

  14. Beth Says:

    Gender is a social construct.

    And don’t get me started on the DSM IV.

    ~Beth, who spent too many years in academia

  15. Lou FCD Says:

    Have no fear, Beth.

    Kevin is one of the good guys in a white hat, who brings sense through humor.

    Like me (though he’s much more adept), he often takes the wingnuts’ voice to point out the utter ridiculousness of their yapping.

  16. Lou FCD Says:

    For reference, see here, Kevin’s old blog.

  17. Beth Says:

    S’okay, Lou. I like Kevin.

    *thinks* Can one be a good guy, and wear a black hat?

    Any cooler there today?

  18. Lou FCD Says:

    Yes, the white hat is only metaphorically attuned to societal norms. I actually find good guys in black hats more interesting.

    A little cooler today. 87, predicted high of 98, predicted heat index of 111.

  19. Beth Says:

    Still too hot for me. Our rain has ceased (for the moment) which is only good.

    Bad guys in white hats — they’re the best. *wicked grin*

  20. Lou FCD Says:

    Well, I suppose it all hinges on one’s definition of good and bad.

  21. Kevin at GodsDandruff.com Says:

    Bad is only a social construct–a really, really fun social construct.

  22. Lou FCD Says:

    Well if that’s what you mean by bad, then count me in.

  23. Diana Says:

    Oh there’s no joke, just truth. : )

  24. Beth Says:

    Ah, truth — as elusive as dreams.

    ~Beth, cryptic

  25. biancs Says:

    If a man in a black hat equals bad;
    And a man in a white hat equals good;
    Does that mean a man in a yellow hat equal monkey lover?

  26. Lou FCD Says:

    No, it just means I peed on your hat.

  27. Beth Says:

    *crinkles nose*

    eewwww

    ~Beth, shocked
    (not really)

  28. Lou FCD Says:

    Guy humor isn’t always pretty, Beth.

    Sad, but true.

    Plus, biancs is my oldest and best friend in the world. If you can’t pee on your best friend’s hat, whose can you pee on?

  29. Kevin at GodsDandruff.com Says:

    Guy humor isn’t always pretty, Beth.

    Evidence:

    Click Here.

  30. Lou FCD Says:

    (I shortened your link so it wasn’t running off the page, Kevin. I hope that’s OK.)

  31. Beth Says:

    There’s an echo in here.

    Sometimes, men …

    No. No, no, no. Not starting that again.

  32. Lou FCD Says:

    He was quoting me, Beth, but blockquotes don’t stand out well on this template like they do at JanieBelle’s, for instance.

  33. Lou FCD Says:

    (Of course, at UDoJ, I have the custom CSS upgrade, and I tweaked them that way. In fact, that’s one of the reasons I got the upgrade.)

  34. Lou FCD Says:

    eh, what I meant to say was,

    (Of course, at UDoJ, I have JanieBelle has the custom CSS upgrade, and I tweaked she tweaked them that way so wonderfully with her mad internet skilz. In fact, that’s one of the reasons I got the upgrade she got the upgrade. Plus, she has very beautiful eyes and if she doesn’t get back on her side of the fence, I’m going to paddle her… and not in a good way.)

  35. JanieBelle Says:

    Thank you.

    …Promise?

    *runs away*


Leave a Reply

