Long, Long Ago In a City Far, Far Away

Ben Watches Over the Front DoorsWhat does Ben Franklin have in common with George Lucas?

A museum in Philadelphia.

We went to visit Diana and Wonderman (and little WonderDude) in Philly this past weekend, and while there, visited The Franklin Institute. The Franklin Institute is the coolest Science museum in the universe, and it’s always a treat to go. One of the most famous permanent exhibits is a huge model of a human heart that you can walk through, following the path of the blood. There are a gazillion other cool things to see and do, lots of stuff for kids of all ages to touch and play with, an IMAX theater, a skybike, the list goes on.

But this trip was a little extra special for a bit of a return to my childhood. For a short time, the Franklin Institute is being visited by the traveling Star Wars exhibit. I took some pictures, but my little digital camera takes pretty crappy pictures indoors. I’ve done the best I can to enhance them for you. I’m a good host like that.

Head below the fold to check out the best of my pictures of some of the props from the Star Wars movies, and click them for really big versions.

Storm TrooperYoda and Mace Windu

Luke’s Land Speeder

X Wing FighterGunship Thing

Princess Leia, R2D2, and C3PO

R2D2

Droideka

Han Solo and ChewbaccaAnakin Skywalker and Ben Kenobi

Darth Vader’s Helmet Assembly

Star Destroyer and TIE FighterMillennium Falcon

Wookie Tree

WampaWookies

Darth Vader

5 Responses to “Long, Long Ago In a City Far, Far Away”

  1. Bourgeois_Rage Says:

    I saw this a few years back. Those models are pretty cool.

  2. Lou FCD Says:

    Yeah they are. I think seeing Vader’s costume was the coolest for me, though.

    I really wanted to hop in the land speeder and drive away, but Philly cops aren’t known for their sense of humor.

  3. Kym Says:

    I missed the first Star Wars when it came out. I thought it was overhyped. Then saw the second and came out with my umbrella as a light saber. I fought storm troopers all the way home.

    When I see the trilogy now, it all seems a bit wooden but I’ll always love it for the magic it brought to me long long ago in a galaxy far away. . .

  4. Diana Says:

    I haven’t had time to download our pics yet but yours turned out pretty good for all the people there were.

  5. Lou FCD Says:

    Kym,

    I used to go to the movies every Saturday when I was a kid, and the magic has never dimmed for me for those movies. The digitally enhanced versions are sweet and filled in some cool gaps and effects, but I prefer the originals just as they were. I think maybe I’m still pissed off about changing the scene where Solo shoots Gredo. I didn’t care nearly as much for Episodes I or II, but III was pretty good. I guess the first two movies are probably my favorites.

    Truth be told though, I’m a bigger Trek fan.

    Diana,

    That’s only because you didn’t get to see the 452 pictures of the back of people’s heads. There were a ton of times where as I pushed the button and waited for the camera to decide to get around to actually taking the picture, some rude asshole would step right up in front of me. Eventually, I just started pinching little babies to create a distraction so I could slip over and snap a picture while adults were fussing over the screaming rug rats.

    Ok, I didn’t really, but now that I think of it, that’s something I’ll have to try next time I’m in that situation.


Leave a Reply

