Two Thousand, Nine Hundred, Thirty-Eight Miles

Mourning Tree, by Destiny's Agent @ Flickr

Garrapata State Beach, California.

It sounds lovely, even though that’s not where this first picture’s from.

From Wikipedia:

Garrapata State Park is a California State Park operated by the California Department of Parks and Recreation which has two miles of beach front, with coastal hiking and a 50-foot climb to a beautiful view of the Pacific. The park is located on Highway 1, 6.7 miles south of Rio Road in Carmel, 18 miles north of Big Sur. The park offers diverse coastal vegetation with trails running from ocean beaches into dense redwood groves. The park also features outstanding coastal headlands at Soberanes Point. Sea lions, harbor seals and Sea Otters frequent the coastal waters and California Gray Whales pass close by during their yearly migration.

Aunt Helen left for California about 3:25 this afternoon. I got the call a few minutes later.

Light in Trees, by CarbonNYC @ Flickr I think Aunt Helen would like it at Garrapata State Beach. It’s 2,938 miles from her front door, and it just seemed like a nice place on the map of California. Someday I think I’ll make a point to visit there. She’s not really there of course, but that’s OK. I’ll go anyway. I’ll do that for her.

Maybe they’ll let me plant a rose from her bush that she grew from clippings from my grandmother’s bush. The original bush is older than I am. Now that I think about it, I believe that my grandmother’s bush came from a clipping from my great grandmother’s bush. Seems like she told me that once.

Anyway, that’d be a nice tribute. She’d like that.

Goodbye Aunt Helen. I’ll miss you.

From whence came the art:

The first photograph is titled Mourning Tree, by Destiny’s Agent, appropriately enough. It was actually taken in London, England.

The second photograph is titled Light in Trees, by CarbonNYC, and actually was taken in Garrapata State Park, CA.

4 Responses to “Two Thousand, Nine Hundred, Thirty-Eight Miles”

  1. The Call « UDreamOfJanie Says:

    […] – Some thoughts. This entry was written by JanieBelle and posted on August 9, 2007 at 3:41 pm and filed under […]

  2. Martyne Says:

    Sorry about Aunt Helen Lou. You have my condolences. You know where I am, should you need me.

  3. derifter Says:

    Hey Janie,
    Heard about Aunt Helen through Mandi Kaye.
    Sorry to hear it. Peace & comfort to you.

  4. JanieBelle Says:

    Thanks derifter,

    This is actually The Boy‘s place, but that’s OK. I’m sure he won’t mind.

    I appreciate your coming by.


Leave a Reply

