Family Updates

Livin Life in J-villeI know it’s rare that I post here more than once or twice a week, so I’m hoping I don’t cause any cardiac issues for anyone.

I just thought you’d like to know what’s been going on in the FCD family.

Aunt Helen

Aunt Helen was moved yesterday into a nursing home. After all is said and done, she is terminally ill with cancer, and will in all probability never leave there. Her lucidity is intermittent. It is very nearly time for The Red Dress. The family is coping as well as they can, each member in his/her own way.

Pop

Has been out in the western end of the state doing some work for his cousin. He is returning today for a visit to Aunt Helen, and I’m waiting for his arrival before visiting Aunt Helen. With no cell phone because of The Incident, I’m a bit afraid to wander far from the home phone. I’ve never been renowned for my timing.

Wife

In Kentucky visiting her father, and dealing with some major family mess. Resolution is not quick in coming, and if she has her way we will be taking in her sister’s three children to raise. While I sincerely believe that is the only hope for those kids to ever have any sort of future, the timing couldn’t be worse – financially or emotionally. Surprisingly (don’t die of shock on me here, I’m going to rant about something else this time!), religion is not the issue here but rather parenting (or the lack thereof) by both parents. While my SIL feels this is best for the kids, the dad involved is an idiot on a whole ‘nuther level. There are some serious legal issues involved, and our hope is to prevent the children from landing in the custody of the Commonwealth’s foster care system, which is where they are apparently going to go if we don’t offer to take them. I hope it’s an option (legally speaking), but I’m not familiar with the procedures, rules, etc., so I’m not sure if we can stand between the kids and the Commonwealth of Kentucky or not. Surely it’s better than foster care, right?

Daughter

Budding journalist who aspires to pediatrics, also in Kentucky. She has been selected to be Editor-in-Chief of the school newspaper, as well as has accepted offers from both Dr. Elizabeth Wood of SexInThePublicSquare.org and Timmi Toler of the Jacksonville Daily News to write. Columnists at the New York Times are publicly wetting their pants in fear of pink slips. Seriously, I think I read that on CNN or something. (OK, it might have been on Fox News, in which case it’s probably not true.)

Son

At home supposedly enjoying some guy-time with Dad (me), he has apparently moved onto the couch and is currently living on the phone with New Girlfriend. I’m pretty OK with that, because I don’t have to hear the damned thing ring. Current phone conversation record holder here at 200 hours and counting. Finished summer school and I believe has come to the conclusion that skipping homework and relying on straight A test grades to pass is not a great strategy, even with test grade averages in the upper 90% range. It was a hard lesson for him, I think.

Brother-In-Law

Now living with us since Pop moved out, but in Kentucky to visit and “assist” with the aforementioned kid stuff. He’s 29, but has some moderate Fetal Alcohol Syndrome / Cerebral Palsy issues, so he’s pretty much our third teenager. He loves making coffee though, so he can stay. We’re acquiring quite the menagerie here in our little house. ‘sok though, we have lots of room in our hearts, if not our house.

Shakespeare da Bard Dawg

Pretty much sleeps, chews, and insists it’s playtime at 3 AM like clockwork. Has also made a habit of dragging his water dish out of the master bathroom and into my bedroom… while it’s still full… getting water everywhere. I need to find a bowl with some serious weight to it to prevent this. It wouldn’t be quite the issue it’s becoming, if he hadn’t eaten the linoleum from the bathroom floor, and in our current financial state I haven’t been able to re-cover the plywood sub-flooring yet. On the plus side he wrote a pretty cute poem though. The writer bug runs rampant here.

Me

I blog to deal. Plus, it’s not like there’s a lot else I can do.

Well, I guess that’s all the news that’s fit to print.

3 Responses to “Family Updates”

  1. Martyn Says:

    My thoughts are, as always, with Aunt Helen. Hope you don’t need that “Red Dress” for a good while yet. Kentucky seems to be the place to be these days. I have a close relative currently living there.

  2. Kate And The Transgendered Purple Octopus Alien « UDreamOfJanie Says:

    […] I’m browsing around, strolling through the archives here because I’m rather morose over Aunt Helen news and don’t feel like posting anything substantial, and bumped into the first mention of the […]

  3. Lou FCD Says:

    Thanks Martyn.

    I’m thinking it’s within weeks now. I hope I’m wrong, but I doubt it.

    Family is all home, safe and sound, btw.


Leave a Reply

