Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night

Aunt HelenAunt Helen may be about to begin that long journey to California I once blogged about.

She’s been very ill, so I hadn’t spoken to her for a week or two. I didn’t want to call and bother her while she was so sick. I did call on Wednesday and talked to her a little bit, and she still sounded very very ill. My cousins spent the day with her on Wednesday and after they left, my oldest cousin called to let me know how she’s doing. He’s not optimistic. She’d been to the doctor, and it looks like she’s had a mini stroke. My cousin thinks we’re probably dealing with end of life issues.

Yesterday she called me, and though she actually sounded better than she had, it turns out she had fallen, and couldn’t manage to get herself up off the floor. I hustled over with the kids and spent about an hour getting her slowly onto her love-seat, one stage at a time.

Aunt HelenMy wife and daughter went back over later, and after spending time with her and my other cousin, it was decided that she was feeling bad enough that she needed to go to the emergency room.

She came home in the wee hours of the morning. I don’t know all the details, but the doctor did say she’ll need 24 hour care from now on.

We were joking about “Goin’ to California” once, and she got to talking about funerals. She said she didn’t want everyone to be sad and depressed and crying at her funeral. Instead she said she wished everyone would put on their best red dress and celebrate her life. I promised her I would do exactly that, red dress and all. She often reminds me of that promise.

I do not look forward to my trip to the ladies’ department, which may come all too soon.

Do not go gentle into that good night,

Old age should burn and rave at close of day;
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

 

Though wise men at their end know dark is right,
Because their words had forked no lightning they
Do not go gentle into that good night.

 

Good men, the last wave by, crying how bright
Their frail deeds might have danced in a green bay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

 

Wild men who caught and sang the sun in flight,
And learn, too late, they grieved it on its way,
Do not go gentle into that good night.

 

Grave men, near death, who see with blinding sight
Blind eyes could blaze like meteors and be gay,
Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

 

And you, my father, there on the sad height,
Curse, bless, me now with your fierce tears, I pray.
Do not go gentle into that good night.

Rage, rage against the dying of the light.

Dylan Thomas

14 Responses to “Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night”

  1. Martyn Says:

    Very sorry to hear about your aunt Helen. I “lost” my second cousin Roy, who I looked upon as a first cousin, earlier in the year. My thoughts are very much with you.

  2. Martyn Says:

    Left you a comment earlier but it seems to have disappeared into cyberspace for some reason. I am sorry to hear about the situation involving your aunt. You are very much in my thoughts.

  3. Lou FCD Says:

    Thank you for your kind thoughts, Martyn.

    Sorry ’bout the lost comment, things are set so that first time commenters are held in moderation. That prevents the handful of spam comments that get past the filter from making it onto the blog.

    You should have no more issues with that.

  4. Martyn Says:

    Thanks for the explanation. I fully understand. Don’t want to lay a lot of heavy stuff on you but my mother has not been well over the weekend. She has had a urinary tract infection, for which she has had antibiotics, but she is a bit sensitive to them and has been sick over the weekend. One of her carers got the doctor in today and I ended going to the pharmisist to get her more medicine. Hopefully the medicne will kill the infection without making her sick again.Lets face it. It doesn’t matter if you are a girl or a boy. Your mum is the most important person in your life.

  5. Lou FCD Says:

    Not at all, Martyn. I hope your mum is feeling better, though.

    I can’t really speak to the mum issue from personal experience, as mine left when I was five. I’ve since met her and on occasion correspond with her, but really she’s more like an acquaintance than a mum.

  6. Martyn Says:

    I now feel really bad about what I said about mums and I really hope I have not upset you. I find it difficult,as a mere guy, to understand why a woman would do such a thing. My parents relationship fell apart when I was a teenager and the lesson I learnt, in a painful way, was that they were to blame and that you should not shoulder any responsibilty for what happened between them.It took me years though, to come to that point. You are simply a passenger in these things and should not assume any culpability.

  7. anothersadsong Says:

    It’s okay Martyn. I’m sure you didn’t upset him. I’m her granddaughter and I’ve met her all of twice that I’m aware of, once I remember.

    I know I’m sixteen now and I lost my mom’s mom a few years ago and I thought, “Well, at least I have another grandmother.” But, really, she’s only been around once and sends letters every once in awhile. I’ve learned to not care anymore. I think if I can get over it after a few years of it really bothering me, so can Dad. I mean, I am her oldest granddaughter (second oldest grandbaby) and she’s really only good for a couple of broken promises every couple of months.

    Sorry Dad. It’s just how I feel about Grandma.

    Love you!!!

  8. Martyne Says:

    My congratulations to you on reaching sixteen. It’s a milestone. We have a strange legal system in my country. You can get married and smoke at this age (neither advised) but you have to be another year older to drive a vehicle. After another year you can vote and drink alcohol. Never stop caring Kayla. To me that is what life is all about. Whatever life has thrown at you don’t let it get you down. I love teaching and if there is anything I can help you with I am more than happy to be there for you.

  9. Martyne Says:

    Great to hear from Kayla. I am happy for her. What is the news about Aunt Helen. I am concerned for her. Mum seems to be getting better.

  10. Martyne Says:

    I just want to qualify something from comment #8. Never take up smoking, ever, but what I am saying is that sixteen is far too young to get married in this day and age.I trained as a biologist and I know a woman has not finished growing physically until she is nineteen and I feel that is the absolute youngest age she should start to consider reproducing. What I am trying to say, with a lot less eloquence than I can usually muster, is that you should not do things just because you can. I’m a rebel, but I always think before I act. A course I would always advise.

  11. Lou FCD Says:

    Aunt Helen is improving and may be released from the hospital in the next few days, but I’m not sure of the details yet.

    Thanks for your support and kind words.

  12. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows « UDreamOfJanie Says:

    […] as some of you know, Aunt Helen – Savior of Thanksgiving – fell ill.  She got better, got worse, got better, got worse.  She’s looking and sounding much […]

  13. I May Be A Bit Scarce For A Bit « UDreamOfJanie Says:

    […] As I mentioned a few posts ago, Aunt Helen, Savior of Thanksgiving and Feeder of Stray Marines in Need, has recently fallen ill. […]

  14. The Man In The Red Dress « Crowded Head, Cozy Bed Says:

    […] day closer to a trip to the ladies’ department at J.C. Penney’s. I’ve mentioned my promise to Aunt Helen before, that I would wear a red party dress and matching pumps to her […]


Leave a Reply

