Kayla Walks

I meant to point this out, but it was during the hiatus so I forgot.  I’m blaming age and the pain meds as my cop-out.

Each year without fail, my wife and daughter participate in the local Relay For Life.  It’s a 24 hour walk-a-thon to raise money for the American Cancer Society.

The Jacksonville Daily News spoke to Kayla for their feature article on the Relay this year.

Kayla was devastated when her grandmother was diagnosed with cancer in 2003. Kayla, a White Oak High School sophomore who was in middle school at the time, remembers trying to stay strong. She couldn’t see her grandma often because of the distance. Kayla lived in Pennsylvania, her grandmother lived in Kentucky. And soon after the diagnosis, Kayla and her family moved to Jacksonville.

You can read the rest of it here.

I’m very proud of my daughter for taking time out of her very busy teenage life to participate each year.  I’m glad she’s trying to be part of the solution.

4 Responses to “Kayla Walks”

  1. Timmi Says:

    Hi Lou!
    Thanks for this post. Please tell Kayla how much we appreciate her sharing her story with Erin and Lerissa. Relay for Life is such a great cause and Kayla’s story helped the Listen Up! page convey that to readers.

    And … thanks for linking me! Oh … wait … sorry. Um, thanks for “adding me to your blogroll” cause we’re bloggers so we have speak in blog and bloggers don’t “link.” My God. That’s like soooooo 2004. Bloggers have “blogrolls.” So, thanks for rolling me in your blog. I rolled you in my blog, too.

  2. Lou FCD Says:

    Thanks, Timmi. I’ll pass that along, but you can tell her yourself, if you want. She was very excited about being able to share her story with Erin and Lerissa, and all the Daily News readers. She and Granny Bea were very close, so Relay for Life means a great deal to her.

    I’m glad that we could take a roll in the blog together, as I’ve enjoyed your column for some time but just found your blog…

    🙂

  3. anothersadsong Says:

    What can I say? I do what I can. I’m one of the few teenagers (in my opinion) that care more about finding a cure than who’s screwing who’s boyfriend this week.

    I just want to say that Lerissa is awesome. 😀

  4. Lou FCD Says:

    She gets her modesty from me.

    😉


Leave a Reply

