Before And After

So the shed fell down. It had had enough. It should have taken two or three days, but well I’m not so nimble any more. Here’s before and after pics. Now I’ve had enough. At least for a while.  Click the pics for bigger images.

Before
Before
Before
Before
Before

So it’s nearly done. It’s at least ready for the weather this afternoon. The rest of the trim and the heavy concrete anchors will have to wait until after the storms pass this weekend.

It’s all hand nailed. (Thanks Pop! – No way I could have driven all those 16p. nails!) I was all set up to deck screw the walls on the ground and then stand them and screw them together. Pop showed up and framed it for me. I deck screwed the T1-11 on and did the trim and cut the shingles and did the staining, and built the doors and stuff. Pop roofed it, too.

The Depot will build them for you, but they use light nails and an air gun, so it’s not as strong as a hand nailed one. This sucker is well built. And pretty.

After
After
After
After
After

Now that’s a shed. I have to go lay down for a while. Maybe another week.

Or two. I may actually do some blogging tonight, but I’m not promising.

The girls have been very patient, but I think they’re itchin’ to get yacking again.

Posted in About. 4 Comments »

4 Responses to “Before And After”

  1. WhoreChurch Says:

    Sheds are cool. Good sheds I mean. I had one like your old one when my redhead and I got married. It wasn’t so cool once it got all rusted and leaky. Your new shed is cool.

  2. Arden Chatfield Says:

    So, Lou, when you gonna be back in action?

    Quit this whole Tim Allen thing and come back to making fun of creationists with us! You’re missed at the ATBC corral.

    Get well soon.

  3. Kristine Says:

    It’s very pretty. But hey, your old shed is just like ours! I don’t know why ours hasn’t rusted after 14 years – ??? Maybe it’s the grape arbor right next to it, although you’d think that would make things worse.

    Anyway, good job.

    A friend of mine had a great idea when she had to bring her house up to code – she advertised a “barn raisin'” to our neighbors, and said, “If you help me fix my steps, paint my walls, yadda, yadda, I will feed you breakfast!” I couldn’t go but she had a good turnout.

    Well, so long, farewell, auf wiedersehen, adieu! To yieu! I’m off to the Galapagos on Tuesday, no blogging, no e-mail, just communing with the turtles (and on a ship with Dawkins, *shimmy*), so be good! 😉

  4. Lou FCD Says:

    Thanks all.

    I see you’re enjoying yourself way down yonder in the Galapagos, Kristine. Glad you’re feeling better.

    They still have a barn raisin’ down east Kentucky way (where my better half is from) from time to time, and I love the idea. My cousin (who lives just ’round the corner) came and helped put the roof on. We all sat ’round and had a few beers that evening, so kinda samey same.

    It’s nice to be missed, Arden. I guess I was just a little burned out or something there for a while, and I was feeling well enough to do some stuff (which is pretty rare, so I have to take advantage of the time).

    By the by, I forgot to mention that those pics were taken BEFORE the last windstorm totally did the shed in. The wind would blow a little bit and the sides of the old metal shed would peel all the way back like a giant sardine can! I had it propped up with shovels and digging bars and rakes and stuff at the end. Even a little duct tape!

    There’s still a little trim that needs to go on the new shed, but I just can’t manage now. It’ll have to wait. The concrete anchors won’t wait long, though. I have to put them in before too long as we’ve already had one named storm through here and hurricane season doesn’t start for another 2 weeks! I am SO not looking forward to drilling the concrete to get them in, but at least the hurricane clips are in on the rafters.


Leave a Reply

