Suloram Gets A Face

Moloram SuloramMoloram Suloram

I putzed around some today, trying to stay out of bed.

I didn’t sleep much last night. The neck and back were killing me. All I wanted to do today was sleep, but when that kind of thing happens and I give in, I spend weeks trying to readjust my sleep schedule. So I stayed out of bed as much as I could. Every few hours I’d go into the shop and putz with Suloram a little.

Moloram SuloramMoloram Suloram

I drew him a face, then started carving. Rested a while, came back later, carved a little more here and there, yada yada yada.

At the end of the day, I had him all done but his eyes. Not bad, all things considered.

Moloram SuloramMoloram Suloram

I was going for a little scarier look with Suloram than I got with Moloram.

I guess I did OK.

There was a small issue with a slipped chisel and a nose. And another slipped chisel and an eyebrow.

Moloram Suloram

Fortunately, both body parts involved were his, not mine. That’s not a given when I’m on meds, y’know. I figured I wasn’t using any machines, I’d only lose a finger or two in the worst case scenario.

Uncle Luis came by today and I showed off Moloram. Uncle Luis has this thing about clowns. Deathly fear of them. It never occurred to me that his phobia might extend to Moai. He laughed and praised the work, but wouldn’t hold him. It dawned on me after he left that it was the clown thing. Too funny.

Moloram Suloram

I’m thinking I’ll go to Michael’s craft shop tomorrow and see if I can find some plastic jewels for Suloram’s eyes. I might hollow out the top of his head a little and add some feathers, too. I guess it depends on whether I can get out of bed and drive.

Suloram has a bit more detail to him.  More relief on the teeth, the nose, the eye pads.  Better shape to the mouth and eyebrows.  I put that big ol’ knot right in the front of his hat thing because I might make that head dress thing with the feathers.

I guess that makes him the chief Moai.

16 Responses to “Suloram Gets A Face”

  1. WhoreChurch Says:

    Cool. At least despite the pain you can still get wood.

  2. WhoreChurch Says:

    Wait, that didn’t sound right. What I meant to say is it must be a relief for you to play with your wood all day.

  3. WhoreChurch Says:

    That’s not good either. This is for Kayla, right? Well I’m sure when Kayla gets to school all the kids will be impressed by her father’s wood.

  4. WhoreChurch Says:

    Oh, darn, um, well as far as Tiki’s go, your wood is worship-worthy.

  5. WhoreChurch Says:

    I’m surprised by the size.

  6. WhoreChurch Says:

    (OK, I’ve hogged your blog enough…)

  7. Molly Montrevoir Says:

    Can’t stop laughing … I want a piece of that too!

    Really Lou, first a week in the bathroom. Then all this carving. Wood in one hand, sharp tools in the other … you certainly know how to prick up a girl’s interest! I think there’s a story in that somewhere….

  8. Amanda Says:

    I have to agree with Molly there.

  9. Molly Montrevoir Says:

    Want to write it with me Amanda? Or should we wait for Lou to write it?

    First line might be – He heard her approach and turned from his work, knife in hand, a fine layer of sawdust and sweat obscuring the flush of excitement on his face…

    Or not.

    Wait, is this that kind of blog? I do forget my place sometimes!

  10. anothersadsong Says:

    Sorry Kevin, it’s for James. 😀

    I also apologize to the ladies here. This isn’t that kind of blog. This is the one his daughter reads.

    ~~~Another Sad Song~~~

  11. Lou FCD Says:

    Goofballs.

    🙂

    I have to go handle my wood now.

  12. Molly Montrevoir Says:

    I got my partner interested in your post, here, because, well, he likes wood a lot too. And now he has major tool envy!

  13. anothersadsong Says:

    Did I mention his daughter reads this?? I’d rather not read about my dad’s wood, thanks. That’s just weird. And, Molly, I’d also like to not hear about any tools associated in any way with my dad’s wood. kthanks.

    have a pleasant day!

  14. WhoreChurch Says:

    Any delinquency produced by my comments was purely accidental.

  15. Lou FCD Says:

    Kay, quit bein’ a goof. I don’t harass your commenters!

    It’s my blog, and if I want to discuss my wood, I’ll discuss my wood. Look at Suloram. He’s wood. And he’s mine. He’s my wood.

    🙂

  16. anothersadsong Says:

    that’s because i don’t have commenters except for you and kevin and that would be kinda stupid to harass yourself.


Leave a Reply

