Idol Worship

Moloram Suloram

So, I was feeling a little better today. I’ve really been down physically.

James reminded me that the spring dance was coming up, and it’s a Hawaiian theme. Months ago, his chorus teacher (the teacher that puts on the musical every year, btw.) had asked if I could make some Tiki type decorations.

I had pretty much forgotten all about it, but since it’s going to be April 22nd or something, I figured I would play around a bit.

I was wondering what I was going to make them out of. Then it occurred to me that we still had some hunks of the Juniper tree that used to be out front. It was a raggly ass eyesore. When we first started renting this house several years ago, I said if I owned the place, the first thing I would do would be to cut that sucker down.

When I bought the house, that was indeed the first thing I did upon our return from London.  It was so ugly, that when we cut it down, all the neighbors came out on their porches and applauded.  I shit you not.

Moloram Suloram

Juniper is like cedar, very soft. I figured I could handle it on the lathe. Yeah, it beat the crap out of me.  I hurt so fucking bad, I just want to take some painkillers and pass out.

In fact, I think I will.

I don’t know when I’ll get back to regular blogging, but when I’ve felt well enough to do it, I’ve been trying to get some of the things around the house done.

Anyways, I’ve got one Moai done, and a second one under way. I may need a few days to recover before I continue.

I’ve named them Moloram and Suloram. Moloram is the first one, and I finished him before I thought to get some before and during pictures. You get to see Suloram through, though.

The first two pics show Suloram raw, next to Moloram. The third pic is Suloram stripped of bark and limb nubbies.

Moloram Suloram

Then you can see him on the lathe, just a little ways into being rounded out, and the last pic is Suloram after he’s finished on the lathe and sanded. Now he’s ready to be carved.

Moloram Suloram
Moloram Suloram

6 Responses to “Idol Worship”

  1. Kym Says:

    Lou, these are cool. I wish we’d had you around when we had tikki dances when I was a kid.

  2. Lou FCD Says:

    Thanks. I had a great time making them, despite the physical difficulties. I still crack up over the Earth Mother (two posts hence) and what she’s got under her skirt.

  3. Kym Says:

    I saw her knot of desire. Poor lady!

  4. Neil Says:

    Cool Tiki’s.
    I noticed you said Juniper was like Cedar. Well, Juniper is also known as “white cedar”.

  5. Lou FCD Says:

    Thank you, Neil. Yes, they are sometimes called that although the nick-name is a bit misleading. Junipers and Cedars are two families of trees within the conifers (order Pinales).

    They are very similar with their bark off though.


Leave a Reply

