I Walked Around A Little Today

Janie (the wife, not the alter ego) and I walked around Lowe’s and the Depot for a while today. I’ve got some ideas about the kitchen. I guess I’m feeling construction inspired now. I solved a lot of problems with a kitchen remodel in my head today, and went to check prices and stretch the legs a bit.

The counter top is what’s going to kill me. I had no idea how much they’d gone up in price in the last few years. The solution is to do a little of the kitchen at a time, I think. And the way I have the kitchen laid out on paper, I should be able to do that. I’ll go with the cheaper laminate counter top until it’s done, and then when I get the urge (and the bucks) I’ll replace the counter top all at once and put in a Corian or granite top in one shot.

There’s no drywall behind the paneling in the kitchen, so that means that even though I can work around the existing cabinets as far as layout goes, the cabinets will still have to come out so I can rip down all the paneling and drywall before anything else. Not looking forward to that, for sure.

I’m not physically ready to attack the kitchen yet anyway, I’m just working in my head and planning.

Meanwhile, as much as I despise our kitchen (I’ll remember to take “before” pictures this time), I have to fix the shed first. Crappy metal one and it’s falling down.

That’ll be another overdrive job, because once I start I’ll have to get it done before the next rainfall. Another week in bed afterwards, I’m sure. At least this is sort of our dry season, so the weather isn’t exacerbating my problems too much, and if I can get it done before the rains get more regular, that’ll give me a little more time.

(sigh)

Whattyagonna do? Home ownership has a price, and the price on a bargain of a house is that shit is broken and needs fixing and replacing.

I’m having trouble sitting in this chair still, so blogging won’t be much yet. At least I got the pictures in the last post fixed, and the spam boxes cleaned out.

Which brings me to another bitch, but I’ll let JanieBelle handle that one. Maybe tomorrow.

5 Responses to “I Walked Around A Little Today”

  1. WhoreChurch Says:

    Good for you. Don’t kill yourself doing this, but enjoy it.

    I regretted doing my own counter top–it didn’t match up exactly and I was so tired at the time I was like “screw it, it’s close enough.” That was 10 years ago and it annoys me every day.

  2. carlsonjok Says:

    I empathize. We bought a run-down mini-ranch almost 5 years ago and it has been one project after another. Everything looked like it was done by 4 friends with a keg of beer. I don’t have any construction experience, so I’ve either done the learn as I do thing or hire out the structural things. We half wish a tornado would take the house out so we could start over.

  3. WhoreChurch Says:

    Just checkin in, hope you are rockin the remodel.

  4. Lou FCD Says:

    Hi Carlsonjok. The house is actually not in terrible shape structurally. Mostly it’s just cosmetic stuff, fortunately. It’s stood up to 30 years of hurricanes, so they musta done somethin’ right.

    Good luck with that tornado thing.

    Kevin, I’m breathin’ but that’s about the best thing I can say right now. I’m really hurtin’.

  5. WhoreChurch Says:

    Good to hear from you. Glad to see you’re fashioning idola. Hopefully the pain will eventually subside a little and you can back to the imporant work of blogging.

    I’ve got your back.


Leave a Reply

