So Where Were We?

For starters, I’m beat.  I’m drained, kaput, exhausted, running on empty.

But enough about my I.Q. …  🙂

Seriously, here’s where things stand (for those of you keeping score) –

Wife Jane – Love her heart, she’s up and around this morning, cleaning the kitchen and just brought me some coffee.  I’ve got a massive headache either from lack of good sleep, lack of caffeine, or just general stress.  Wait, this wasn’t about me, was it?

Wife Jane, Take Two – So she’s doing better, but still sore as hell.  She’s up and about though, and handling problems at work by phone.  She’s still walking like me, but she’s improving.  I’m really glad the Crippled Old Man Shuffle looks to be temporary.  It’s not very attractive.  🙂

Daughter KaylaFace – Driving all over town at her second drivers’ ed road class yesterday.  I am so very proud of how well she’s doing I can’t contain it.  And despite the fact that we all know how long they’ll last, I really do appreciate all the promises she’s making about taking care of a lot of the driving errands for me once she’s loose on the road.  Makes me feel old though, and I damned near cried when I went to pick her up after lesson number one.  I hadn’t expected them to leave the parking lot of the high school, but when I arrived they were nowhere to be found.  After about five minutes, she pulled the car into the parking lot and parked it right at the front doors of the school like she’d been doing it all her life.  They’d been out cruising the neighborhoods.

She’s a little worried about today though.  They’re learning to park.  Residential neighborhoods?  No prob.  Two lane highway?  Piece of cake.  Rush hour traffic on the four lanes of U.S. 17  through town?  Walk in the park.  Put the car between two yellow lines in an empty parking lot?  Scary, apparently.

?

Pop – Probably coming home today.  He was up and around yesterday, with the physical therapist in tow.  She brought a walker with her for him.  He laughed and told her I needed it more than he did.  He was right.  Put the lady on his arm and cruised off down the hall with her, leaving the walker in the room.  He’s still a working carpenter, and intends to go right back at it.  Good for him.  I should be in so good a condition.  I believe they’ll be prying his hammer from his cold dead hand long after I’m worm bait.

He said they did two “brain scans” on him.  From what I could gather, one was an EEG, and the other an MRI maybe.  Doc says that it may not be his middle ear after all, but an after effect of a mini stroke he seems to have had at some time in the past.

If I know Pop, he was probably on a roof or something and just ate a Tums and went on.  “Stroke?  Nah, indigestion.  Gimme another truss.  I don’t have time for a stroke.”

Fuckin’ Ironman.

15 Responses to “So Where Were We?”

  1. WhoreChurch Says:

    Hope all of you recoup well. It wasn’t to the FSM, but I did actually pray for you. I figured you would at first find that annoying then humorous. I’m so misguided.

    My redhead taught both the boys to parallel park–she set up plastic garbage cans in the church parking lot. It worked really well. They were experts by the time they hit driver’s ed.

    Hey and I hope you’re a chip off the old block–your dad’s still getting biza wit the be’atches despite a stroke. Go dad.

  2. WhoreChurch Says:

    OOPS! One more thing that has nothing to do with this post…

    Have you seen the MIT online courses you can take for free? Thought you might be interested, it was in some magazine I saw the other day and thought of you:

    http://ocw.mit.edu

    Maybe it will take your mind off your mind.

  3. Forgive Me « UDreamOfJanie Says:

    […] Just so y’know.

    On a brighter note, at least things are going a bit better for The Boy and Co. […]

  4. Lou FCD Says:

    Thanks Kevin. I really do appreciate the sentiment, no matter my lack of religious belief. Truly, it’s the thought that counts.

    I actually had bumped into that MIT online course thing a while back, but had completely forgotten about it.

    Thanks for the reminder.

    And yes, Go Pop!

  5. WhoreChurch Says:

    Hey, I’m on muscle relaxers and I drank a little tonight–so it’s a great night to post to the drunken muse blog! Feel free to join me in you qualify!

  6. anothersadsong Says:

    Ahem, you have no idea what you’re talking about. You weren’t there when Momma took me driving and if there were cars there, they would have been dead. Also, you make me sound like a regular teenager who never keeps her promises. That hurts you know. If you want, I can give you the middle finger and tell you to go grocery shopping all by yourself. How often do I EVER tell you “no” when you ask me something???? Hardly ever. Good answer. All you’ll have to do is ask. Jerk. Just kidding!!

  7. Lou FCD Says:

    You.
    Are.
    A.
    Spoiled.
    Brat.

    (but I love you anyway)

  8. Lou FCD Says:

    Sorry I missed the invite, Kevin. I was qualified, but unconscious. Maybe later tonight, though. I don’t think I’ll be sleeping well.

  9. WhoreChurch Says:

    Feel free. I really got unintentionally wasted last night. I hadn’t had any muscle relaxers in a long time and I forgot just how loopy they make me. I seem to remember looking in the pantry around 1am looking for a snack.

    I ended up improvising by taking a stale brownie and slathering it with peanut butter.

    I woke up with crumbs peanut butter glued to my jammies.

    I think I’ll skip the vodka tonight. Maybe.

  10. anothersadsong Says:

    That’s right, you better love me or your old butt will be in a home one of these days!!

  11. Lou FCD Says:

    I’ve been wiped out by 7PM lately, Kevin. I’ll make it back ’round eventually.

  12. WhoreChurch Says:

    Hope all is well, I knew you were taking a while off blogging, but I am just checkin’ in.

  13. WhoreChurch Says:

    Just in case you’re reading without posting. Did you see that a kid is in trouble with his school for his FSM beliefs?

    You may want to check it out:

    http://www.metro.co.uk/weird/article.html?in_article_id=43272&in_page_id=2

  14. WhoreChurch Says:

    Meant to add: Hope all is well. May you live in the blessings of the FSM.

  15. Kristine Says:

    Hi! I came by, too… How are you doing? I hope everything is okay as can be. Geez, you’ve certainly got your hands full…I feel bad.

    Anyway, take care. Let me know if you need any bedtime stories. Kevin knows what I mean. 🙂

  16. Kristine Says:

    Hi! I came by, too… How are you doing? I hope everything is okay as can be. Geez, you’ve certainly got your hands full…I feel bad.

    Anyway, take care. Let me know if you need any bedtime stories. Kevin knows what I mean. 🙂


Leave a Reply

