Two Separate Trips To The E.R. Today

My father collapsed right about noon today. I was in the middle of some posts for UDoJ that would be time delayed to give me a fighting chance to post over here. Needless to say, I dropped and ran. Hence the relative silence.

Pop’s had an aneurysm in his aorta the docs have been carefully watching, and of course that was my first thought. Since he made it to the E.R. still alive, I pretty much could rule that out, thank the FSM.

Then I was thinking stroke, because chest and arm pain wasn’t involved. After several hours of tests and cat scans and all that jazz, they determined that its probably some weird problem involving his middle ear. That’s where the little gyroscope in your body is that controls balance and direction. So they’re thinking that it went haywire, sending him into a mad shock of vertigo. The dizziness put him down. Major scare, minor problem relatively speaking.

Ok, ’round 4:30 they get him settled into a room upstairs, they’re keeping him for observation overnight. I called all the family to let them know he was OK, and talked to the wife on the phone who was running errands.

Kayla’s partner didn’t show up for drivers’ ed, so she has to wait until tomorrow to start.

I got home, hung up my jacket and keys, kissed my son, pet the dog, and let out a sigh of relief that the day was nearly over and I could relax. Took the meds I’d missed and was just about to lay down. I’d been in the house maybe five minutes when the phone rang.

My wife is hysterically bawling on the phone, some young girl had rear-ended her. Right back out the door. Kay’s OK, but Jane looks pretty rough and she’s in a neck brace. I watched as the paramedics extricated her from the car and strapped her on a back board. Kay was pretty upset. Of course I had to hang around waiting for the State Trooper to show up.

He was quick and professional, helpful, and let me go to the E.R. as soon as he could, promising to meet me there to take my wife’s statement. He did show up, took her statement and Kay’s and told us there would be no problems with the insurance company, the other driver was 100% at fault. (I should say so, Jane was stopped at a red light!) Our car was barely scraped, the other driver’s was a wreck. She had hit Jane still going so fast that her front end slid right up under our car and just scratched the bumper and tailpipe.

We’re home now (except Pop), and Kay is fine, Jane is badly bruised and sore. Personally, I’m worn out.

G’night.

17 Responses to “Two Separate Trips To The E.R. Today”

  1. Talk About A Crappy Day! « UDreamOfJanie Says:

    […] Talk About A Crappy Day! I’m glad I’m not The Boy. […]

  2. Phil Plait, aka The Says:

    Yikes! Well, it sounds like things are heading in the right direction now. Keep us updated.

  3. Amanda Says:

    Definitely keep us updated! I’m glad that everyone’s okay.

  4. bourgeois_rage Says:

    Phew, rough day, glad to hear you’re all still in one piece.

  5. Infophile Says:

    Damn, sometimes life seems to pile it all on at once, doesn’t it? Hopefully your father really is okay, and your wife is alright too.

  6. Lou FCD Says:

    Sure will, everyone. Thanks for all the concern.

    Pop’s feeling better, Jane’s still achy but moving around, and I watched my daughter drive back into the school parking lot today when I picked her up from drivers’ ed.

    The instructor says she’s ready for the highway tomorrow.

    Alas, I have gotten old.

    I’ll post something more thorough tomorrow. Right now, I’m beat.

  7. WhoreChurch Says:

    Hope things have significantly improved by the time you read this. And you’re not old, you’re younger than me. So I refuse to believe you are old.

    The little baby Jesus will take care of you. The little 8lb, 6oz baby Jesus lying in a manger has you in his loving baby arms, giving you all of his butt powder smelling, baby Jesus love. Cute little baby Jesus will protect you and keep you and your family.

  8. anothersadsong Says:

    Thanks Kevin. You really make me feel safe. =)

  9. WhoreChurch Says:

    Kayla,

    Once you started driver’s ed I began I began praying to the tiny baby Jesus to keep you safe with his super-powerful baby Jesus arms. Sittin’ there in his gold diaper, lying in a manger, holding the world together with his toothless, baby Jesus giggle laugh. He’s so cute.

  10. anothersadsong Says:

    And tell me, Kevin, how do you suppose this toothless little brat is going to help me???? Anything who needs a gold diaper can’t be cute…I don’t know what world you’re living in, but it just ain’t possible. =]

  11. WhoreChurch Says:

    It’s the power of Divine Cuteness–evil must flee in the presence of his radiant Cuteness.

  12. Lou FCD Says:

    Well, I guess we know who’s mouth she inherited…

  13. anothersadsong Says:

    Ew. I hate cute, but I don’t flee. Fat people don’t flee. It just ain’t possible.

    You, hush up! DON’T MAKE ME TURN THIS CAR AROUND!!

    just kidding. I love you!!

  14. WhoreChurch Says:

    Lou,

    It’s easier to tell the difference between Janie and you than Kayla and you. Makes ya wonder.

    Kayla,

    Jesus’ baby cuteness is overwhelming even for the unbeliever. It will overcome everything and lead to the salvation and healing of everyone.

  15. Lou FCD Says:

    Does that make us all wonderful?

  16. WhoreChurch Says:

    Three of the four of you are wonderful.

    How did your writing go this weekend? Well I hope.

    Did you hear the latest? Dawkins isn’t really an atheist–at least, that’s what Kristine says.

    May His Divine Cuteness, the Baby Jesus, Protect You and Keep You, Kevin


Leave a Reply

