The Nightmares

A night full of nightmares, by J. Star @ FlickrThey come.

Flaming horses,

Thundering hoofbeats.

Smoke and fire revisited.

I am dragged away in steel shackles.

I am blinded until I arrive

at my personal hell.

It is here that they are bound

to bring me each night.

My love for them runs deep by day, Honey and Chessy,

but at night they are corrupted, Disease and Rot.

They are as unwilling as I.

It is here that they must see, by my side,

The long ago events that rip my soul.

The air is filled with smoke and ash,

as we cower before the terrible display.

The air fills with lightning and thunder,

And the screams of an orphaned boy.

Gunfire fills the jungle air where we now stand,

and a small boy’s face is filled with tears.

Escape is slow, and the thunder is the beating of my heart.

For hours, Disease and Rot, Honey and Chessy,

Steal by my side through the darkness.

Finally, with the coming of the day,

The flames begin to die,

and I watch my tortured friends gallop back into the mist.

And I am left, once again,

Alone.

L.

4/5/95

From whence came the art:

That image is titled A night full of nightmares, by J. Star.

Leave a Reply

