Me, The Boys, And Ivan

Me, The Boys, And Ivan
So the wife calls me up while she and Kayla are at the Walmart.

“Grab James and come on!” and tells me why.

I grab the boy, we hop in the car. He’s asking what the surprise is all the way there, but I won’t tell him.

Ivan Koloff, The Russian Bear, a pro wrestler from back when I was a kid was over there signing autographs.

Here’s our poloroid of us.

I don’t think he cares much for the way Pro Wresting is these days.

He was incredibly friendly, and we yacked a bit about the old wrestlers.

I remember hating him, then loving him, back and forth as the storyline progressed.

He’s probably best known in tandem with his real life nephew, Nikita Koloff.

It reads,

To James + Dylan 1/19/07

Best Wishes my friends

Ivan Koloff JN 3:16

(Dylan is a friend of James that we happened to bump into there.)

Those were the days. Summer was forever, girls were suddenly fascinating and mysterious, the good guy always won, and Pro Wrestling was real.

5 Responses to “Me, The Boys, And Ivan”

  1. itspeopledammit Says:

    Hey Lou, I moved over to WordPress. There’s a thank you here:

    http://myotherblogisaporsche.wordpress.com/2007/01/21/thanks-lou-and-the-girls/

    I set up a few others now as well:

    http://itspeopledammit.wordpress.com

    http://whorechurch.wordpress.com

    http://myredhead.wordpress.com

    I couldn’t do the “easy import” thing to pull my old posts from blogger to WP since I had already switchd to beta. So I moved our conversation from the old Soylent blog to wordpress, along with your comments.

    So if you want to see my further comments on Obscene Money, look at them over at the new blog.

  2. Lou FCD Says:

    Okely Dokely Kevin.

  3. Arden Chatfield Says:

    Why do I feel this sudden urge to smash someone over the head with a folding chair?

  4. itspeopledammit Says:

    Hey Lou, thanks for the blogroll.

    I’m still trying to find the booklet I wrote on niche stuff. I’ll let you know.

  5. Lou FCD Says:

    Hey fellas.

    Sorry for the late response. I’ve been dealing with the neck, and spending a lot of time in the damned bed, which explains the lack of posting on all three blogs.

    I really need to figure out how to squeeze out enough money for a battery for the laptop.

    What little time I’ve been able to sit here to write I’ve been spending on the next chapters to Janie and Kate’s story.

    I decided to write Kate’s first this time, and it’s done. Janie’s is started, but not far along.

    Arden, go easy with the chair. Outside of a wrestling arena, people tend to get a little upset when you smash them over the head with folding chairs.

    Don’t ask how I have personal knowledge of that, I just do.

    🙂

    Kevin, I was going to add all four of them, but it looked like you weren’t ready with the other three, so I’m just waiting ’til you have those ready.

    I’m itchin’ to get started, but I figure if I’ve waited almost 40 years, I can wait a little longer.

    I really do appreciate your help in getting me pointed in the right direction.


Leave a Reply

