Monday Memory

I can’t quite put my finger on it.

It’s very mild this morning. Breezy, overcast, rainy off and on. As I’m leaning on the bedroom window sill, looking out at the back yard and watching the trees blow in the wind, hearing the rain in the yard, there’s a faint scent on the wind. It’s a smell I remember from somewhere. I can’t quite put my finger on it. It’s like it’s just out of my reach.

I think I kind of know what general period of my childhood it’s from, because it seems like it’s associated with a particular street I lived on back when I was about seven or eight.

Each time I almost grasp the memory though, it just slips away again.

It’s a quiet memory. The sound of a passing car out on the two lane road a block behind my house drives the memory away. The rain and the breeze are muffling most of the usual sounds I hear out back. Not even much in the way of chirping birds or squacking squirrels, and this seems to be part of the memory, too.

The sky just lightened up as the overcast thinned out a bit, and the memory is further removed. I can’t smell whatever it was that I smelled before, so I’m feeding my nicotine addiction that had been tugging at the back of my mind. I’d been holding off, knowing that a cigarette would destroy any chance I might have had of catching a good whiff of the scent I was searching for.

My wife called. It’s lost for good now. The mood is lost, the spell is broken. Shakespeare’s gotten bored with the fly he was stalking around the bedroom and needs attention from me now. He’s rather insistent.

Posted in About. 10 Comments »

10 Responses to “Monday Memory”

  1. Robyn Says:

    Isn’t it amazing what a strong trigger the sense of smell has on our train of thought and our sense of memory? Everytime I walk into a musty old room my mind flashes to my grandfather’s old leaky house in Alabama because everything in it was always damp, and it smelled of old, old smoke.

    There is the smell of a box of Crayola and the smell of a new doll at Christmas that sends me right back to the fourth grade. Very nice post!

  2. Lou FCD Says:

    *blush*

    Thanks, Robyn. I still haven’t quite put my finger on the memory, and the smell is entirely gone now. It’s driving me nuts!

    😦

  3. Kevin Scott Says:

    Hey Lou,

    Hadn’t seen you at AtBC in a couple days so I stopped by here just to see how you are doing. Glad to see you are posting.

    Have a good one.

    Scary

  4. bourgeois_rage Says:

    Smell is amazing, seems like a sense so closely tied to a strong memory would have been figured out. But I think we’ve all been where you are at. Catch a whiff of something and you can be flooded with emotions, but have no idea why.

    Another thing I find funny is how the smell can bring the memory back even stronger than just thinking about the facts and details of that memory. It brings all the emotional baggage of the moment with it.

  5. Lou FCD Says:

    Hey Scary!

    I’ve kept an eye on the Bar, I’ve just not been adjusting well to the meds. Very fuzzy in the head. Takes me quite a while to even put a little post together.

    Hiya Bourgeois,

    It’s really strange and cool that smell is so closely tied to memory. I often wonder how long it will take them to figure out how/why that is.

    For me, nothing can really yank me back into a memory like a particular smell.

  6. Lou FCD Says:

    Oh, and the AFDave v. Wes thing at Wiki and on the Bathroom Wall is funny as hell.

    Sometimes I just want to reach in my computer screen and grab that little peckerhead by the neck….

    🙂

  7. Kevin Scott Says:

    I sent Dave a pm apologizing for my rant his way. After looking at his blog and his responses to me I came to the conclusion he is truly mentally ill. I might be wrong, but I truly believe he suffers from narcissistic personality disorder. He literally can’t see that he can’t see.

    My Doc gave me good drugs today. I’ll think of you when I’m “trippin.” Have a good day.

  8. Kevin Scott Says:

    Uh, yes, he has. He asked me to point out where he displays pridefulness and grandious thinking. It’s like a schizo asking how to act like a normal person–despite the bugs the CIA has placed in his brain.

    I was at a loss. It’s in almost everything he writes. I thought he was just unable to see religious thought contrary to his narrow views. I was wrong. He is truly mentally ill.

    I just couldn’t point and laugh any more.

  9. Lou FCD Says:

    You should just send him a link to the first page of his “UCGH” thread.

    I think the whole thread should about cover it.

    He really is in need of mental help. It’s so sad, but irritating anyway.

    I feel really bad for his kids, though.


Leave a Reply

