The Labor

Lou FCDFor five days,

and five nights,

I have toiled to the brink of exhaustion.

Sweat has poured

in buckets from my skin.

My mind has raced

and twisted and turned.

Blood has dripped

from my battered fingers.

And tears have flowed

from my bloodshot eyes.

My unseen foe,

myself,

has pushed me to the edge,

and I am weary to the bone.

My body shakes in fatigue,

and I feel I can continue no longer.

Were there a god

upon whom I could call

I believe I would be tempted

to pray for merciful Death.

I would be hard pressed

not to beg for her comfort,

her solace,

her rest.

But for now my race is over,

my work is done,

my toil now suspended.

I sit before my computer screen

and let escape a gasp of relief.

Thank God,

there is no school on weekends.

L.

10/13/95

3 Responses to “The Labor”

  1. WhoreChurch Says:

    Hey Lou,

    I meant to give the Whore Church Seal of Approval to the three of you, not just Janie. Feel free to use any way you choose. It’s good for tithe free membership in most churches and a 10% discount in good works for an New Jeruslem ticket.

  2. Robyn Says:

    Hmm. I read through envisioning hammer and nail kind of hard work and toil, like my father and his muscley arms, and then the line about sitting in front of your computer screen just blew up the whole image. Work is work, isn’t it? I like the idea that you/we are our own foe.

  3. Lou FCD Says:

    Thanks, Kevin. As you can see it’s now proudly displayed.

    I’m thinking of a similar thing for a “Wall of Honor” for the girls, but I’m still working on what I want in the center of the graphic.

    Great idea you’ve got there.

    Hi Robyn!

    Thanks. That whole sudden grinding gear shift was intentional, I remember cracking myself up when I wrote that.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

